Something to share.

Here is a post that I shared on my Facebook page yesterday, in which I relayed some great news with loved ones, old friends, acquaintances, and anyone else who might be interested in this journey I’ve been on:

Today is a happy day!! Most of you close to me know how hard of a time I’ve been having with my health, but for those who don’t — since getting diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and Hashimoto’s thyroiditis (autoimmune hypothyroidism) at Mayo Clinic back in September, I’ve been in an almost constant flare of chronic fatigue, widespread muscle pain, and all-over feeling-awful-ness. This semester, I’ve had to medically withdrawal from UNF as I’ve been unable to walk on campus or keep up with classes due to the side effects of my medications. It’s bittersweet as I love being an Osprey, but I’ve made the decision to transfer to Florida Institute of Technology‘s Applied Psychology program. It is completely online with more manageable semester lengths, so I will be able to finish the degree I’m passionate about whether or not I’m feeling great or having a rough time health-wise. Even more importantly, I’ll finally have time to focus on being well as often as possible without the stress of campus and the “typical” college experience. I’m so excited to be officially registered and will start classes May 4th!! Thankful for this beautiful path God is leading me on, even during the struggles…..it’s a good thing I enjoy surprises!!

Featured image

I don’t always broadcast my major life changes on social media. Sometimes I don’t have the energy, sometimes I’m still worried about my choices. Most often I just want to experience my days completely in the moment, solely for myself — without the “likes” and comments that come both online and in-person when you choose to share your moments with others. It’s so easy to get burnt out when you’re always thinking about that next post, and it’s good to remember that there’s life happening right before your eyes as well as on your phone or computer screen.

But in this case, my news needed to be shared and celebrated across many different circles of people as it’s not just mine alone. It’s been a hell of a few years trying to get back to living in spite of my diagnoses, and there were plenty of dark moments and painful days when I needed as much support as I could get. So many people prayed for me and offered their support during this trial of my life, and I know that they are just as relieved and ecstatic as I am to see real positive progress in my life. I mean, c’mon — I make it out of bed and accomplish something every day when just a few weeks ago I couldn’t get out of bed in the first place!! Whether it’s something little, like baking muffins on a bad day, or something great, like enrolling at FIT….it’s fantastic!!!

Featured image

It’s only right to let everyone know the good things I’ve got going – to remind friends that things will always get better. I hope this news brought my loved ones as much joy as it brought me. It’s truly a blessing to know the love of friendship and family and to have relationships that can both carry you through the hard times and celebrate the recoveries that lead back to good days. My heart is full and I am so thankful….to me, that’s something to share.

I’m going to keep up the good vibes as often as I can nowadays in efforts to make this beautiful life as full of love, wellness, and positivity as it can possibly be. That’s what it’s all about, right?!

Feel free to check out the memories I’m making on my Instagram & Twitter via @_sambuckler and let’s be Facebook friends if we aren’t already! I love writing my little heart out here and on my Tumblr page as well. But please don’t worry if there are times when you don’t see me posting — I may be resting and focusing on my health for a while, or I may just be out adventuring in the world!
I can finally say that either option is truly a good one to me.

Thanks for reading. Know that we are deeply & truly loved…more than we will ever know.

All my love,
Sam

What's on your mind?

